You’re My Best Friend

Birthday Card for My Sister

Today is my Sister’s birthday and sunflowers are her favorite.  I feel pretty fortunate to have a sister who is also my best friend and I don’t let her know that often enough. I think she is stronger, wiser, and smarter than I’ll ever be. She is generous and caring, often at her own expense.  She tends to see things more clearly than I and is usually the one who makes sense of what is turmoil in my life, the voice of reason. She is my biggest cheerleader when I start doubting myself and my choices. Yes, we still have those occasional squabbles that send us back to our childhood days. I turn in to the bossy, know it all big sister and she the annoying, temper tantrum throwing, door slamming  little sister that my teenage self thought was a pest. With a laugh and her quick wit she reminds me how much I damaged her psyche during our childhood and how difficult it was being my little sister.  I’m sure I did and I have no doubt being  known as my little sister had it’s disadvantages. Our roles in each others lives fluctuate-we’ve shared a lifetime of smiles and rivers of tears. We’ve laughed until our sides hurt and held each other up through difficult times. We are sisters by blood, friends by choice and I don’t know what I’d do without her in my life.

Songs Of the Day:

Stand By Me – Ben E. King (Cover by John Lennon)

You’re My Best Friend – Queen

My Hero – Foo Fighters

Lean On Me – Bill Withers

One thought on “You’re My Best Friend

Leave a Comment

